1981

by barbznz

1981 was turning out to be a very critical year for me, to quote my favourite SciFi series Babylon 5, it was the year that everything changed. 

Of course getting pregnant at the beginning of the year was huge. In February it was sport that changed. I love cricket, I watch it when ever I can, especially test cricket. Marty is not a fan though he will watch 20/20 and one dayers though. When I met him he had never seen a cricket match. I encouraged him to watch it and he really started to enjoy it, until the first of February that is.

The game was played in Australia so it was very late then it ended. It was a close game and we were tucked up in bed watching. A six was needed off the last ball. The batsman was a number 10 and Trevor Chappell was told to bowl under arm by his brother. Marty was absolutely disgusted, just like the rest of the country. It had taken me ages to get him to watch cricket and it took even longer to get him to watch it  again. 

1981 was also the year of the Springbok tour of New Zealand. NZ and South Africa were and still are great rugby nations.  I knew about South Africa and the evils of apartheid. it didn’t take a genius to know it is wrong. As much as I loved the All Blacks, I didn’t understand why the tour was allowed to go ahead. I also never understood why the rugby union accepted that Maori players could go on tour, or worse had to be honorary whites before they could play in South Africa. 

The tour caused huge division in this country. The government said that politics and sport were separate but how could they be when players were chosen for their ethnicity not their ability. Even so I was interested in the results of the games.

Marty, Suzanne and I went to Shirley Anne and Peters for the Hamilton game on the 25th July. It was amazing, seeing all the protesters on the pitch, the game was abandoned and there was blood in the street. We were stunned. We were pleased too, it showed that world that not everyone in New Zealand agreed with the tour. 

The Springbok tour has often been described as the time that NZ lost it’s innocence. It certainly caused mayhem in the streets. I read somewhere that Nelson Mandala in his prison cell on Robbin Island even heard about it 

I was six months pregnant by this stage and looking forward to being  a  mother again. Shirley Anne and Peter had some news though. Peter had got a job in Paris and they were going to be away  for a year. I was so disappointed that Shirley Anne was going to miss by baby’s birth. But what an opportunity, Paris for a year.

So what with preparing for the baby and trying to buy a house and worrying about Marty’s girls, things were pretty full on. Before I knew it, we were in October. Baby was due on the 6th. Suzanne was sit on my knee and the baby would kick and she would give me the strangest look as if to say, what the hell was that. 

The staff at CDU and IHC wanted us to put Suzanne in respite for a month after baby was born so I could get myself into a routine. I said no. Suzanne needed to go to hospital. There was something wrong, I could feel it, something very wrong and what ever it was, she needed to go to hospital to get it fixed. 

We argued for a while, they told me I was being silly but I was adamant. There was something wrong with Suzanne and they needed to find out what it was.

And I wasn’t taking no for an answer.

© Barbara Hart 2014

 

  

 

