Movies

by barbznz

I watched my favourite movie today,  Ghost, I actually watched in french, with french subtitlles, figured it was a good way to pick up some skills. Even in French, I  cried. I have to admit it but I  am such a sook,  It is all about love conquering all.. Certainly works for me. 

I don”t remember the first time I saw it, it came out in 1990 so I would have seen it with Marty, The theme song, Unchained Melody is our song, which makes the movie even more significant. Every time we hear the song, I do all gooey, and Marty smiles and goes ohhh. We have other songs but that is number one for us.

The first movie I saw with Marty was One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. I had read  the book so I knew what it was about. I still shudder when I think of some of the treatment scenes, but it was a brilliant movie, one of Jack Nicholson’s best. 

The next movie we saw was 2001. I didn’t get it and Marty had to explain it to me when we got out. It isn’t that I didn’t enjoy it, I love sci-fi just didn’t make a lot of sense.

 I also remember us taking Jenni to see the Jungle Book. While it was supposed to be a kids movie, which is why we took her, we really wanted to see it.

I dragged Marty to almost all the Harry Potter movies. He didn’t see the last two, he knew I would buy them on DVD and didn’t see the point of paying the price of the movie as well. One of the best movies we saw at the movies was the Sixth Sense. It was brilliant. Afterwards we went over the movie in our heads trying to figure out if he actually talked to someone. 

Most of the movieswe watch now are sci-fi or horror. Sci-fi is brilliant. I loved the early Star Wars movies and Jurrassic Park. We have a huge DVD collection including the entire series of Stargate SG1 and Stargate Atlantis. We didn’t like the final one so we didn’t buy that. We also have all of Babylon 5 and we are watching Dr Who from the beginning at the moment. 

 I do love the odd period drama,much to Marty’s disgust. I   particularly like historical drams about the royal family. I loved Nicolas and Alexandra. It had the added bonus of Tom Baker, Dr Who number 5 as Rasputin. He was brilliant. 

We love British comedies too. Saun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz are particular favourites. English humour so much more subtle than American. Marty and I went to see Monty Pythons, Life of Brian. We didn’t think it was that funny. Hilary was disgusted, her and some church friends were picketing outside the cinema because they considered it to be blasphemous. They hadn’t seen the movie, just someone told them it was so they protested. All it did really was make people more curious and more people went to see. to see what all the fuss was about.

Movies are a reflection of the age we live in. Star Wars is a good example of that. The original three were brilliant light on special effects, and a brilliant story. I love them. The first 3 made later were all special effects but didn’t capture the magic of the earlier ones. I was hugely disappointed. 

Last week the cast for the final three Star Wars movies were named. Let’s hope they get it right this time.

© Barbara Hart 2014

 

