A fine romance

by barbznz

Marty and I talked until 3 am, We talk about anything everything, I learnt he had been separated from his wife for 3 months and had two daughters. He was a vegetarian. And he was so interesting. As he left and I said, Why don’t you come around on Saturday for a drink.

In the morning, I told Hilary all about it. She woke up when we got home but had kept quiet even when Marty threatened to tickle her toes. I should explain why she was sleeping on the floor. I put her in my daughter Suzanne’s room. Suzanne had severe disabilities  and tended to wake with birds and start singing Hilary wanted to sleep later than that so she put her mattress in the middle of lounge where Marty and I found her.

To be totally honest I had given up on the idea of love and marriage. I never believed anyone would take on a single mother and a child with severe disabilities. I decided that all I wanted was fun nothing serious, perhaps some sex and passion but nothing permanent. I found out later that Marty didn’t want a serious relationship either, he had just come out of a 10 year marriage,

On Friday, my friend Cathy rang me She was going to New Plymouth for Christmas and since I lived close to a bus stop she wanted to stay Saturday night with me. I said no, I have met this guy and he is hopefully coming around for a drink on Saturday night. I need to be alone for that. No she said , I will be no trouble, I will stay out of the way, I promise. Since there was a possibility that Marty wouldn’t show, I agree.

She arrived late Saturday afternoon with boxes of stuff she was taking down to New Plymouth and dumped it in the doorway to the lounge I fed Suzanne and got  dinner ready. I was just about to dish up  when Marty arrived. He handed me a bottle of wine and I put it in the fridge. Without thinking I handed him a plate of cottage pie. As he took it I remembered he was vegetarian. I was so embarrassed. He said actually I have started to eat meat recently.

After dinner I put Suzanne to bed and pulled out the wine, It was French Champagne, Oh I though, I know what he wants. Cathy stayed out of the way  as promised and we settled down for the evening.

I put some classical /easy listening music on. We drank champagne and talked. Around 9 pm Cathy came through the lounge to go to the bathroom and make a coffee. God you are old and boring she said. We ignored her and carried on talking. It was so easy. Like the Wednesday night, we covered a whole range of things, he shared similar political views, we liked most of the same music (apart from Barry Manilow) BY 3 am we had finished off the champagne. He said he should go home  I said he shouldn’t drive after all that champagne and could sleep in my bed. He has such a look of horror on his face. I quickly told him that I would sleep with Suzanne. I offered him some of my pyjamas. He said he slept nude. We walked to our respective rooms, no kiss good night not even a hand shake.

Obviously I was wrong about the champagne. .

In the morning, Cathy was not impressed, she felt I obviously needed to get up and see her off but I was tired and hungover and so curious about the man in my bed.  But I got up, I had to feed Suzanne anyway and said goodbye to her and waited for the man in my bed to wake up. he spent the day with us and then went home, he had work the next day, He was spending Christmas with his children and her parents out of town.

I was spending Christmas with my family and boxing with my friend Simone who lived down the street, He was welcome to call in there on Boxing Day. he said he would and I gave him the address.

He left,without a  kiss or a hand shake, just a friendly goodbye, I was seriously dumbfounded at this stage All the other men I had ever been out with were only interested in having sex,.All this man wanted to do was talk.

If reminded me of the song – A Fine Romance

A fine romance, with no kisses
A fine romance, my friend this is
We should be like a couple of hot tomatoes
But you’re as cold as yesterday’s mashed potatoes
A fine romance, you won’t nestle
A fine romance, you won’t wrestle
I might as well play bridge
With my old maid aunt
I haven’t got a chance
This is a fine romance

Songwriters: KERN, JEROME / FIELDS, DOROTHY
A Fine Romance lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group, SHAPIRO BERNSTEIN & CO. INC.
I couldn’t really believe what was happening, but I was totally intrigued by this man. I decided I would just have to wait and see
© Barbara Hart 2014
